Colin Garrett and Nick Leitz Pick Up Their First Late Model Wins at Dominion Raceway

Colin Garrett celebrates a win in the Sportsman class at South Boston Speedway earlier in 2017. (Photo: Trisha Westfall)

Thornburg, VA – For the second year in a row Dominion Raceway and Entertainment held two special events for Late Model racers. Opening the entry blank to those who have yet to pick up a win at Dominion Raceway in 2017 and a second feature open to drivers who have yet to earn a Late Model Stock win in their career. Colin Garrett, 17 yo from South Boston, Virginia, earned the pole for the 75-lap 2017 first time winners race posting a time of 15.527-seconds. Nick Leitz, 21 from Chesapeake clocked a time just .007 seconds slower to earn the second starting position in the fourteen car field.

The top five cars would invert after the pill pull from Garrett handing the front row over to Chris Johnson and Owen Smith. Chris Johnson would show the way for the first ten circuits as Garrett worked his way through the pack. Garrett would take the race lead on lap eleven and never look back. Attrition and restarts appeared to be the storyline this weekend from the high banks of Dominion as a handful of caution periods claimed several cars – Chris Johnson was one of them later in the race.

Garrett flexed his muscles on every restart jumping ahead of Nick Leitz to reclaim his spot at the front of the field. The final twenty-seven laps went caution free as half of the field wrecked out and Garrett cruised to the checkered flag picking up his first Dominion Raceway win of the year. Nick Leitz, Logan Jones, Jimmy Duncan, Chandler Sherman rounded out the top five finishers.

In the second and final Late Model feature of the night – this race open to all of those who have yet to earn a Late Model Stock feature win – the starting lineup for the 25-lap feature was set by the way the field finished in the first race. Nick Leitz lead the six-car field to the green flag and to the checkered picking up his first career Late Model Stock win leading all 25-laps.

Nick Leitz celebrates in victory lane at Dominion Raceway on October 21, 2017 winning his first Late Model Stock Car feature. (Photo: Short Track Central)

LMSC 2017 First Time Winners UNNOFICIAL

  1. #24 Colin Garrett; 75
  2. #14 Nick Leitz; 75
  3. #77 Logan Jones; 75
  4. #55d Jimmy Duncan; 75
  5. #18 Chandler Sherman; 70
  6. #10 Maddy Mulligan; 62
  7. #36 Owen Smith; 59
  8. #82g Mike Ganoe; 42
  9. #9 Alex Brock; 42
  10. #24c Chris Johnson; 36
  11. #13 Reid Murphy; 31
  12. #89 Matt Ashworth; 31
  13. #55 Chris Flowers; 27



LMSC First Time Winners Race UNOFFICIAL

  1. #14 Nick Leitz; 25
  2. #9 Alex Brock; 25
  3. #18 Chandler Sherman; 25
  4. #36 Owen Smith; 25
  5. #10 Maddy Mulligan; 25
  6. #55d Jimmy Duncan; 1


Leave a Reply to Justin Kern Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s