Jake Crum and Stacy Puryear Will Start 2017 ValleyStar Credit Union on Front Row in Interesting Fashion

Jake Crum wheels through turn four during final practice at Martinsville Speedway. (Photo by Dinah M Thompson)

Jake Crum wheels through turn four during final practice at Martinsville Speedway. (Photo by Dinah M Thompson)

Ridgeway, Virginia – It was an interesting night under the lights at Martinsville Speedway as 84 cars hit the speedway for qualifying time trials under the new permanent LED lights. Jeff Oakley, who at the completion of qualifying was the fastest car on the scoreboard, had his time disallowed after failing post-qualifying technical inspection due to a spacer plate found under the carburetor. To shake things up, even more, second place qualifier, Deac McCaskill had his time thrown out as well due to altered squitter’s in his carburetor. This ultimately handed the front row over to the pair of Jake Crum and Stacy Puryear – allowing the two competitors to skip the heat races.


“It means a lot,” Crum said about officially winning the first pole under the lights at Martinsville. “I think it means a lot to all the fans, media, and everyone who has put a lot of work into this. It is just an honor to be the first ones under the lights here. Hopefully, we can bring it home with a win.”


With both drivers on the front row having their times thrown out, it essentially moved both rows up one spot, unlike what you typically see when just one car is sent to the rear. This moved South Boston Speedway regular Stacy Puryear up from his fourth starting position to second.


“It is pretty amazing and exciting,” Puryear said in the media center. ”It just shows I serve a big God. We were excited to qualify fourth and to be on the front row now and not have to run a heat race, I am pretty excited.”


Puryear will now not only have a second-place starting position in the 2017 ValleyStar Credit Union 300 but will now have a huge advantage going into the final leg of the Virginia Triple Crown. With 25-laps less on his tires and at the front of the field, Puryear will be the highest starting triple crown driver come Saturday night.


“To give the Late Model Stock guys an extra incentive like the triple crown is, its big for us,” Puryear went on to explain. “Most of the time we race for a thousand to three thousand to win, you know we were going to run those races anyway and to have a shot is amazing. It’s pretty cool what Martinsville, Langley, and South Boston have done. [I’m] just very thankful that those guys do that. It is very much appreciated [by] all drivers.”


Lynn Carroll addressed the issues as well in the media center saying that all carbs were inspected before qualifying and it is up to the teams to read the entry blank on what to do with them afterward. He later went on to say that both Jeff Oakley and Deac McCaskill will either line up at the tail end of one of the heat races or at the end of the last chance qualifier, the final decision has not been made yet.


The gates for the ValleyStar Credit Union 300 will open at 2:00 PM on Saturday, September 23rd. There will be an on-track autograph session from 2:30 PM – 3:30 PM with the first heat race scheduled to roll off at 4:00 PM. The 200-lap feature is scheduled to start at 8:00 PM. The Weekly Racer will have coverage LIVE on our Twitter feed (@theweeklyracer) starting at 3:45 PM.





  1. #01 Jake Crum
  2. #17 Stacy Puryear
  3. #27 Tommy Lemons Jr.
  4. #83 Matt Bowling
  5. #5 Lee Pulliam
  6. #2 Trevor Noles
  7. #01 Philip Morris
  8. #22 Bobby McCarty
  9. #13 Timothy Peters
  10. #26 Peyton Sellers
  11. #02 CE Falk
  12. #2 Dennis Holdren
  13. #57 Eddie Johnson
  14. #44 Justin Johnson
  15. #88 Josh Berry
  16. #14 Ryan Repko
  17. #03 Brenden Queen
  18. #21 Mike Darne
  19. #22 Robert Powell
  20. #87 Mike Looney
  21. #50 Jamey Caudill
  22. #34 Justin Snow
  23. #22 Grayson Cullather
  24. #15 Kres VanDyke
  25. #24 Mason Diaz
  26. #21 Travis Swaim
  27. #77 Trevor Ward
  28. #77 Blake Stallings
  29. #18 Ty Gibbs
  30. #18 Jason York
  31. #55 Mark Wertz
  32. #16 RD Smith
  33. #61 Justin Hicks
  34. #2 Myatt Snider
  35. #26 Danny Edwards Jr.
  36. #06 Davin Scites
  37. #57 Justin T. Carroll
  38. #5 Ronnie McCarty
  39. #33 Macey Causey
  40. #25 Derrick Lancaster
  41. #4 Annabeth Crum
  42. #4 Timmy Phipps
  43. #73 Bruce Anderson
  44. #63 Tyler Matthews
  45. #82 Barry Beggarly
  46. #2 Brandon Pierce
  47. #17 Bryan Reedy
  48. #57 Jimmy Mullins
  49. #12 Austin Thaxton
  50. #12 Nick Smith
  51. #1 Jamie Sweeney
  52. #7 Jamie Byrd
  53. #7 Justin Crider
  54. #12 Ryan Wilson
  55. #51 Chris Chapman
  56. #90 Terry Carroll
  57. #81 Jared Fryar
  58. #9 Brad Kurth
  59. #8 Thomas Scott
  60. #92 Casey Wyatt
  61. #07 Dean Ward
  62. #27 Coy Beard
  63. #91 Justin S. Carroll
  64. #95 Jacob Heafner
  65. #24 Colin Garrett
  66. #22 Scott Lancaster
  67. #50 Haley Moody
  68. #2 Matt Leicht
  69. #4 John Moore
  70. #19 Cameron Bowen
  71. #37 Adam Gray
  72. #36 Owen Smith
  73. #28 Jason Barnes
  74. #05 Mason Bailey
  75. #33 Jimmy Wallace
  76. #18 Bobby Gillespie
  77. #21 Tommy Neal
  78. #07 Kevin Neal
  79. #12 Ryan Gray
  80. #25 Craig Eastep
  81. #78 Ricky Gillespie
  82. #07 Larry Barrett
  83. #11 Jeff Oakley
  84. #08 Deac McCaskill

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s