Get to Know the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown 2016

DHSTS_at_LANGLEY_Proof_2-972x796The Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown invite list was recently released from the DHSTS Race Coordinator, Buck Reuss.   It is full of drivers that Langley Speedway fans should know well and some new names.  Lee Pulliam, Josh Berry, William Byron, Peyton Sellers, and Matt Bowling are a few of the out of towners that have raced at Langley recently.  It is looking like it will be a fantastic race for a great cause.

I asked Buck a couple questions about the DHSTS to get a look into the race that a lot of us are looking forward to.

Is there a selection process used or do y’all go off of track popularity/car counts?

For an ‘in short” answer, we look for the facilities in close proximity to RIR and hope the local race fans and racers are ready to make it a terrific show year after year.

For the additional drivers included, do you go off of previous success at Langley Speedway?

The initial invitee list is built between NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Div. I National Points, the NWAAS Virginia State Points, NWAAS Virginia Track points, a couple of NASCAR D4D drivers and winners of the Virginia Triple Crown races. Then the competitors of the previous year’s race are re-invited. Beyond that I take requests for additional invitations and will go through a process looking at their qualifications before passing drivers through for an invitation.

For the Hampton Heat they said they wouldn’t start more than 38 cars, would this be the limit for this race also?  If there is, would it go off of just qualifying times or would heat races be used?

The purse for the DHSTS is set at 36 entries for the feature race. This was designed between NASCAR and DHF. And at the moment we at DHF are working with Race Director for the DHSTS Shayne Laws (since 2010) on determining race day procedure for qualifying and or heat races.


With some details to still be ironed out and possibly more invitations to be sent out look to The Weekly Racer for updates through the racing off-season!


DHSTS Re-Invite of 2015 LMSC Competitors
Blake Stallings
Brayton Haws
Brian Pemberton
Bruce Anderson
Bugs Hairfield
CE Falk
Chad Finchum
Coleman Pressley
Dalton Saregeant
Davin Scites
Dude Gibbs
Dustin Storm
Eddie Johnson
Garrett Campbell
Josh Berry
Kaz Grala
Kyle Plott
Myatt Snider
Payton Ryan
Peyton Sellers
Quinn Houff
Travis Swaim
William Byron


NASCAR D4D Drivers
Natalie Decker
Colin Cabre


Lee Pulliam


Next 5 from NWAAS National Standings
Thomas Tillson Jr.
Taylor Holdaway
Jimmy Zachorias
Keith Rocco
Ryan Preece

NWAAS Virginia Top 5

Matt Bowling
Greg Edwards
Danny Edwards Jr.
Mark Wertz
Brenden Queen

3 from the Hampton Heat 200

Matt Waltz
Tyler Ankrum
Nick Smith


Virginia Track Points 3 from each


South Boston Speedway
Austin Thaxton
Juan Garcia
Bobby McCarty


Langley Speedway
Conner Hall
Tyler Hughes
Michael Hardin


Motor Mile Speedway
GR Waldrop
Tommy Lemons Jr.
Craig Stallard


Additional Drivers for 2016
Burt Myers (NWSMT)
George Brunnhoelzl
Andy Seuss
Gray Gaulding
Taylor Sticklin
Dalton Saregeant
Sergio Pena
Devon Amos
David Garbo
Payton Ryan
Macy Causey
Todd Gilliland
Justin T Carroll
Craig Eastep